Day 9: People under the Bed

Sometimes we keep people under the bed. Well at least that what I’m gonna call it. E use to say we have shadows that follow us but they’re shadows we can control. I never understood that term.

Sometimes we keep people under the bed,

They’re in our thoughts

they’re in our head

I keep him by my bed stand so he’s the last thing I see at night

I keep him around and imagine him holding me tight

I keep imaging when he will be lying next to me,

I even have good conversations

I know this sounds so silly

Sometimes we keep people under the bed. E won’t let go so I won’t either. I told him that I would leave them alone if he does the same. He doesn’t answer me so I pretend that he will anyways.

I remember when I took you to my family peyote meeting. I thought you would be the one. My family, they all loved you but you were so rough around the edges. I couldn’t wait to show you off and put my moms mind at ease you see because I’m been alone for all my life and I feel like she wants me to be with someone, so it wouldn’t matter who it winds up being. I remember when we were in the teepee. you made a fool out of me. You didn’t even know how to enter let alone exit. I took that as a premonition to drop your ass but I only felt stupid at the statement my mom made of “it doesn’t take a ceremony to see how shitty he was treating you!”

Sometimes we keep people under the bed

And I still don’t know why

I keep falling for the obvious

and act as if it were a surprise

You treated me like shit acting as if I wasn’t the best you could have ever had. I got your letters in the mail the other day and you sent back all my pictures ALL MY FUCKING PICTURES! What the FUCK! after all that whining and begging and crying of why don’t you send me any pictures please send some pictures and you give them back as if I didn’t take time, money, effort, and energy to send them to you! BUT you sent them back when I didn’t want you anymore, I didn’t want you anymore, I don’t want you anymore!

Sometimes we keep people under the bed

then the bed breaks.

 

Day 9: People under the Bed

One thought on “Day 9: People under the Bed

Leave a Reply

